Phrasal Verb: “shut up”

From: Dictionary of English Idioms by ธง วิทัยวัฒน์ :  shut up เงียบ, หยุดพูด, ปิด, ปิดกิจการ, ขัง, ติดคุก, กักบริเวณให้อยู่ = be quiet, stop talking, close completely-often said of a house, lock  Example: The teacher told the noisy boy to shut up. ครูบอกนักเรียนที่ส่งเสียงดังให้เงียบ We shut up the house only minutes before the storm hit. เราปิดบ้านเพียงไม่กี่นาทีก่อนพายุจะมา The poor boy was shut up in the cellar. เด็กที่น่าสงสารถูกขังอยู่ใต้ถุน He shut himself up in his room. เข้าขังตัวเองอยู่ในห้องของเขา

Note: This idiom is quite vulgar and impolite when directed towards persons.

Here are some examples gleaned from Corpus of Contemporary American English:

He didn’t talk. He sat behind me. I could see him in the rearview mirror. He
just said, ” Shut up and drive. ”

Kyle spends all his time shut up in the house with Zola, the housekeeper. He hardly sees his dad.

Rarely used as in an adjectival phrase: Please note: The author forgot to hyphenate shut up to properly form the adjectival phrase “a shut-up room”

See “Using Phrasal Verbs in Adjectival Phrases”

JOE # I have no interest in myself. I think about myself, I get bored out of my
mind. # PATRICIA # What does interest you? # JOE # I don’t know. Courage.
Courage interests me. # PATRICIA # You’re going to spend the rest of your life
on a tiny island in the South Pacific? She pours them both a drink. # JOE #
Well, up till now I’ve lived on a tiny island called Staten Island, and I’ve
commuted to a job in a shut up room with pumped in air, no sunshine, despicable people, and now that I’ve got some distance from that situation, that seems pretty unbelievable. Your life seems unbelievable to me. All this like life, seems unbelievable to me. Somewhat. At this moment. # PATRICIA # My father says almost the whole world’s asleep. Everybody you know, everybody you see, everybody you talk to. He says only a few people are awake.

 

Categories: Easy English | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

